California state law regarding employee pay is changing in 2018. Here are several things you need to be aware of … The minimum wage has been increased... Beginning January 1, 2018, California’s minimum wage is going up. Employers with 25 or fewer employees must pay their workers at least $10.50 per hour Employers with 26 or more employees must pay their workers at least $11 per hour Additionally some localities have passed their own ordinances that set the local minimum wage
The cost of misclassification will depend on several factors, such as how many employees are misclassified, how much extra money they would have been paid if properly classified, how the misclassification is discovered, and how your employees react to it.
Generally, if an employee goes to the federal Department of Labor and says they have been misclassified, the DOL will investigate, and they will very likely look at all your employee classifications. Any employee who the
On Tuesday afternoon, a federal judge for the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Texas issued a nationwide preliminary injunction on the Department of Labor’s new overtime rules, which were slated to go into effect in just over a week on December 1, 2016. The judge ruled that the Department of Labor (DOL) likely overstepped its rule making authority by raising the salary threshold as high as it did and by implementing the automatic increase every three years.
In a recent Zap Payroll e-alert we mentioned that: "While there have been legal challenges and attempts by Congress to delay implementation, we do not foresee any changes to the rules until 2017, if at all. Employers should therefore be in compliance by December 1." According to our Content Team, our e-alerts only detail what we know for certain or what is happening. So here is what we know... There are several ongoing legal, political and legislative challenges to the FLSA u